Campaign money · 2021–22
All the money
Every dollar federal campaigns reported for 2021–22: candidates, party committees, PACs, super PACs and outside spending. Money passed from one committee to another is counted once, where it first came in.
- Federal campaign money, 2021–22
- $10.7B Candidates and party committees: D $2.68B · R $2.2B
- Outside spending, 2021–22
- $2.26B Independent expenditures plus electioneering communications
Some political spending is legally undisclosed and isn’t counted here.
Candidates
| Who | Raised | Spent | Cash on hand | Debts | Raised by party | As of | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| House candidates | $2,043,775,656.38 | $2,021,809,893.41 | $428,470,394.10 | $193,479,523.79 | D $1.03B · R $1.01B · other $9.7M | January 31, 2023 | FEC |
| Senate candidates | $1,898,143,108.15 | $1,882,546,037.69 | $349,205,844.53 | $180,734,163.74 | D $1.04B · R $821M · other $36M | December 31, 2022 | FEC |
| Presidential candidates | $23,293,731.74 | $22,586,149.95 | $9,405,466.23 | $18,650,834.35 | D $18M · R $4M · other $945K | July 25, 2023 | FEC |
Where candidates’ money came from
- Individual contributions, itemized ($200 and up from one donor)$1,850,122,128.37
- Individual contributions, unitemized (small-dollar)$952,486,625.42
- PAC and other committee contributions$482,574,731.92
- Party committee contributions$3,796,522.38
- Candidates’ own money: contributions$34,661,853.35
- Candidates’ own money: loans$335,322,499.29
- Transfers from joint fundraising and other authorized committees$244,292,769.34
Party committees
| Who | Raised | Spent | Cash on hand | Debts | Raised by party | As of | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| DCCCDemocratic Congressional Campaign Committee | $362,967,111.14 | $367,701,788.05 | $16,230,013.57 | $18,000,000.00 | Democratic | December 31, 2022 | FEC |
| RNCRepublican National Committee | $335,196,209.01 | $401,421,967.03 | $14,303,856.91 | $0.00 | Republican | December 31, 2022 | FEC |
| DNCDemocratic National Committee | $306,790,180.07 | $315,027,836.15 | $30,552,114.01 | $419,281.56 | Democratic | December 31, 2022 | FEC |
| DSCCDemocratic Senatorial Campaign Committee | $296,838,736.62 | $298,027,976.34 | $8,595,217.87 | $20,000,000.00 | Democratic | December 31, 2022 | FEC |
| NRCCNational Republican Congressional Committee | $289,314,710.63 | $285,469,165.04 | $16,405,043.87 | $15,000,000.00 | Republican | December 31, 2022 | FEC |
| NRSCNational Republican Senatorial Committee | $250,044,899.79 | $256,279,027.71 | $8,177,735.85 | $20,000,000.00 | Republican | December 31, 2022 | FEC |
| State and local parties (federal accounts) | $755,178,359.39 | $702,911,072.22 | $58,733,823.31 | $3,332,416.09 | D $441M · R $245M · other $69M | December 31, 2022 | FEC |
Coordinated party expenditures (spent by parties in coordination with their candidates): $43,900,068.13. Transfers from state parties’ non-federal accounts: $121,204,260.23.
PACs
| Who | Raised | Spent | Cash on hand | Debts | Raised by party | As of | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Connected PACsCompany, union and trade-group PACs. Gave to candidates: D $173M · R $163M · other $4.1M | $1,066,683,250.94 | $984,502,402.23 | $565,185,052.15 | $7,815,892.45 | D $173 · R $0 · other $1.07B | March 31, 2023 | FEC |
| Non-connected PACsIdeological and issue PACs. Gave to candidates: D $22M · R $20M · other $751K | $436,097,490.39 | $464,095,722.46 | $84,479,801.10 | $6,227,454.97 | D $15M · R $28M · other $392M | January 31, 2023 | FEC |
| Leadership PACsPACs run by officeholders. Gave to candidates: D $28M · R $36M · other $1.2M | $358,189,167.55 | $354,140,197.96 | $97,746,971.12 | $525,399.49 | D $7.1M · R $27M · other $325M | December 31, 2022 | FEC |
Connected PACs by sponsor: companies $394M · unions $366M · trade groups $164M · membership groups $135M · cooperatives $7.8M raised.
PACs’ raised money is not split by party; the note under each line shows where their contributions to candidates went.
Super PACs and hybrid PACs
| Who | Raised | Spent | Cash on hand | Debts | Raised by party | As of | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Super PACsIndependent expenditures reported: $1,346,420,198.40 | $2,740,985,072.99 | $2,498,781,536.88 | $361,488,593.20 | $26,054,610.58 | D $1.5M · R $797K · other $2.74B | January 31, 2023 | FEC |
| Hybrid PACsIndependent expenditures reported: $555,185,982.79 | $1,305,630,023.90 | $1,326,912,757.11 | $100,611,301.30 | $7,001,559.40 | D $11M · R $4.8M · other $1.29B | January 31, 2023 | FEC |
Super PACs’ raised money is not split by party; outside spending below shows whom it was spent for and against.
Largest organizational donors to the biggest super PACs
Companies, unions, PACs and other organizations only. People who give are counted in the totals but are never named here. A pass-through donor is an LLC or a group that reports political spending as a non-committee: the original source of its money is not disclosed.
SMP · raised $337,349,319.85
- WORKING FOR WORKING AMERICANS FEDERAL$8,000,000.00
- DEMOCRACY PAC$8,000,000.00
- DEMOCRACY PAC II$5,000,000.00
- LABORERS' INTERNATIONAL UNION OF NORTH AMERICA POLITICAL FUND$4,000,000.00
- NEA ADVOCACY FUND$3,800,000.00
- SEQUOIA HOLDINGS LLC pass-through donor$2,500,000.00
- COMMUNICATIONS WORKERS OF AMERICA WORKING VOICES$2,000,000.00
- UNITED FOOD AND COMMERCIAL WORKERS INTERNATIONAL UNION WORKING FAMILIES ADVOCACY PROJECT$1,975,000.00
CONGRESSIONAL LEADERSHIP FUND · raised $260,591,046.72
- TAKE BACK THE HOUSE 2022$1,081,869.64
CLUB FOR GROWTH ACTION · raised $89,417,588.32
- KENTUCKY FREEDOM PAC$2,000,000.00
- JUSTICE OPPORTUNITY STRENGTH HONOR PAC (JOSHPAC)$500,000.00
- ARKANSAS PATRIOTS FUND$170,001.07
- FINANCIAL FREEDOM PAC$53,000.00
AMERICANS FOR PROSPERITY ACTION, INC. (AFP ACTION) DBA CVA ACTION AND DBA LIBRE ACTION · raised $78,515,132.71
- MONARCH INVESTMENT & MGT GROUP LLC pass-through donor$50,000.00
- UNITING FOR OPPORTUNITY$3,800.00
- WDW LLC pass-through donor$500.00
- C. DOORNBOS 4 L.P.$250.00
MAKE AMERICA GREAT AGAIN INC. · raised $73,268,007.76
- THE WITKOFF GROUP LLC pass-through donor$50,911.55
LCV VICTORY FUND · raised $58,980,965.46
- SMP$500,000.00
- NEXTGEN CLIMATE ACTION COMMITTEE$257,441.00
- CLIMATE POWER ACTION$24,000.00
AB PAC · raised $51,980,226.37
- DEMOCRACY PAC$2,000,000.00
- AMERICAN ASSOCIATION FOR JUSTICE PAC$100,000.00
- VICTORY 2020$79,936.10
- SENATE MAJORITY PAC$71,000.00
- FRIENDS OF BARBARA BOXER$2,122.30
PROGRESSIVE TURNOUT PROJECT · raised $48,562,779.81
- STOP REPUBLICANS$12,150,000.00
- PROGRESSIVE TAKEOVER$4,950,000.00
- TURNOUT IE PAC$184,623.91
VOTEVETS · raised $37,658,163.64
- VOTEVETS 2022 VICTORY FUND$12,088.23
- PFIZER INC. PAC$10,000.00
- INTERNATIONAL UNION OF PAINTERS AND ALLIED TRADES POLITICAL ACTION TOGETHER POLITICAL COMM$10,000.00
- SHEET METAL WORKERS' INTERNATIONAL ASSOCIATION POLITICAL ACTION LEAGUE$10,000.00
- POLITICAL ACTION COMMITTEE OF THE INTERNATIONAL ALLIANCE OF THEATRICAL STAGE EMPLOYES$10,000.00
- POET PAC$10,000.00
- INT'L UNION OF BRICKLAYERS AND ALLIED CRAFTWORKERS$10,000.00
- AMERICAN ASSOCIATION OF NURSE ANESTHETISTS SEPARATE SEGREGATED FUND (CRNA-PAC)$10,000.00
OPPORTUNITY MATTERS FUND, INC. · raised $37,333,279.26
- CLUB FOR GROWTH ACTION$1,000,000.00
- COX BARNS LLC pass-through donor$50,000.00
- AMERICAN VICTORY PAC$2,000.00
Outside spending
- Independent expenditures reported by the groups that made them: super PACs $1,346,420,198.40, hybrid PACs $555,185,982.79, parties $270,782,618.22, other PACs $51,387,299.56, groups that are not political committees $31,417,324.98$2,255,193,423.95
For and against, by party
The FEC has matched $2,218,137,525.27 of this to the candidates it was spent for or against so far; the rest is still being processed.
| Independent expenditures | For | Against |
|---|---|---|
| Democratic candidates | $305,905,618.00 | $749,847,130.43 |
| Republican candidates | $389,306,763.56 | $752,077,710.42 |
| Other candidates | $5,428,368.72 | $15,571,934.14 |
| Matched to candidates | $2,218,137,525.27 | |
FEC totals of independent expenditures by candidate, retrieved October 24, 2026 (FEC). They come from the spenders’ regular reports; spending so recent that it appears only in 24- and 48-hour notices is not included yet.
- Electioneering communications (broadcast ads naming a candidate shortly before an election)$3,155,178.10
- Communication costs (companies’ and unions’ messages to their own members or staff)$11,925,364.27
Sources: FEC electioneering communications; FEC communication costs.
Money that is only partly visible
- Spent by groups that are not political committees, such as 501(c)(4), (c)(5) and (c)(6) nonprofits: spent, donors not disclosed (independent expenditures $31,417,324.98, electioneering $3,155,178.10)$34,572,503.08
| 527 political organizations (IRS) | Itemized contributions | Itemized spending | As of | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 819 organizations that report to the IRS, not the FEC (count)Largest: Democratic Governors Association $197M · Republican Governors Association $188M · Republican State Leadership Committee - RSLC $72M · AFSCME Working Families Fund $48M · Democratic Legislative Campaign Committee $46M · Put Michigan First $39M | $1,420,723,776.00 | $1,429,149,699.00 | December 31, 2022 | IRS Form 8872 data |
These groups (such as the governors’ associations) mostly work on state races. Their Form 8872 reports list contributions and spending of $200 or more, so smaller amounts are not included. They are shown on their own line and are not added to the federal total. Donation platforms’ non-federal accounts, which pass money on to state campaigns, are left out.
Some political spending is legally undisclosed and isn’t counted here.
Shown but not added in
| Who | Raised | Spent | Cash on hand | Debts | Raised by party | As of | Source |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Joint fundraising committeesRaise money and split it among their members. Counted once when raised; the $720,832,788.12 they passed on is taken out of the receiving committees. | $860,906,094.26 | $963,443,183.77 | $28,638,839.09 | $1,173,059.99 | D $47M · R $80M · other $733M | December 31, 2022 | FEC |
Donation platforms that forward contributions earmarked for candidates and committees: ACTBLUE $2,227,362,047.76, WINRED $1,179,983,956.36. The receiving campaigns report that money as their own contributions, so it is counted there and not again here.
How we built this total
The total starts with every receipt reported to the FEC by federal candidates, party committees, PACs, super PACs and joint fundraising committees in 2021–22 (the FEC’s committee summary file, download, last updated Fri, 23 Oct 2026 10:13:49 GMT). Then:
- Receipts reported by every federal candidate, party, PAC, super PAC and joint fundraising committee$13,330,033,802.95
- Less transfers from other committees (joint fundraising distributions, party and affiliated transfers)−$991,583,377.40
- Less contributions received from party committees−$46,317,111.31
- Less contributions received from PACs and other committees−$1,326,708,766.37
- Less contributions refunded to donors−$166,156,250.05
- Less refunds and rebates received (offsets to operating expenditures)−$116,729,814.36
- Less repayments received on loans the committee made−$4,036,502.67
- Plus spending by groups that are not political committees (independent expenditures, electioneering communications and communication costs)$46,497,867.35
- Federal campaign money, counted once$10,724,999,848.14
Each subtraction removes money that already counted once at another committee, or money that came back to the same committee. Donation platforms (ActBlue, WinRed) are left out because the campaigns they forward money to report it themselves. Loans are counted as money raised; repaying them is not counted as spending. The Democratic and Republican figures cover candidates and party committees only, after the same subtractions. Contributions from committees that do not report to the FEC (some state and local groups) are also subtracted, so the total may slightly understate new money. The FEC’s own statistics publish raised and spent by committee type without removing every transfer between types, so they add up to more than this total.
Federal law prohibits using information copied from FEC reports to solicit contributions or for commercial purposes. Do not use TerraCivic for fundraising, donor prospecting, or contact lists. TerraCivic shows no individual contributor names, addresses, employers or amounts. Data use & privacy